Alabama has 16 on Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team - WBRC FOX6 News - Birmingham, AL

Alabama has 16 on Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team

Nine Alabama players represented on defense, six on offense and one on special teams

Alabama had 16 players named to the Southeastern Conference's 2013 Coaches' Preseason football team, the league office announced on Thursday.

The Crimson Tide has nine players named to three teams on the defensive side of the football, six on offense and one on special teams. Alabama has five players on the first team, seven on the second team and four on the third team.

Sophomores T.J. Yeldon (running back) and Amari Cooper (receiver) were selected to the first team on offense along with left tackle Cyrus Kouandjio. Senior linebacker C.J. Mosley and junior safety Ha Ha Clinton-Dix were first-team selections on defense.

The Tide had five players named to the second-team defense with Ed Stinson, Jeoffrey Pagan and Xzavier Dickson representing the defensive line with Adrian Hubbard at linebacker and Deion Belue at cornerback. Senior guard Anthony Steen was the first offensive lineman on the second team. Senior punter Cody Mandell, coming off of a school-record 44.3-yard average last year, was also tabbed to the second team.

Senior AJ McCarron was chosen to the third team after throwing 30 touchdowns and just three interceptions in 2012. McCarron, a two-time national champion quarterback, is joined on the third offensive unit by junior tight end Brian Vogler. Junior linebacker Trey DePriest and junior safety Vinnie Sunseri were third-team choices on defense.

Alabama opens the season on Saturday, Aug. 31, at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Classic inside Atlanta's Georgia Dome at 4:30 p.m. on ESPN.



QB - Aaron Murray, Georgia

RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB - T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

WR - Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR - Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

TE - Arthur Lynch, Georgia

OL - Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

OL - Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

OL - Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

C - Travis Swanson, Arkansas


QB - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB - LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State

RB - Tre Mason, Auburn

WR - Mike Evans, Texas A&M

WR - Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss

TE - Rory Anderson, South Carolina

OL – Anthony Steen, Alabama

OL - Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee

OL - Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

OL - *A.J. Cann, South Carolina

OL - *Chris Burnette, Georgia

OL - *Zach Fulton, Tennessee

OL - *Jon Halapio, Florida

C - Reese Dismukes, Auburn


QB - AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB - Alfred Blue, LSU

RB - Keith Marshall, Georgia

WR - *Odell Beckhman Jr., LSU

WR - *Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

WR - *Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri

TE - *Brian Vogler, Alabama

TE - *C.J. Uzomah, Auburn

OL - La'el Collins, LSU

OL - David Hurd, Arkansas

OL - Justin Britt, Missouri

OL - Aaron Morris, Ole Miss

C - James Stone, Tennessee




DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL - Dominique Easley, Florida

DL - Anthony Johnson, LSU

DL - Chris Smith, Arkansas

LB - C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB - Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

DB - Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama

DB - Craig Loston, LSU

DB - Andre Hal, Vanderbilt

DB - Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida


DL - Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

DL - Daniel McCullers, Tennessee

DL - *Ed Stinson, Alabama

DL - *Xzavier Dickson, Alabama

DL - *Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama

LB - Lamin Barrow, LSU

LB - Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

LB - Adrian Hubbard, Alabama

DB - Damian Swann, Georgia

DB - Marcus Roberson, Florida

DB - E.J. Gaines, Missouri

DB - Deion Belue, Alabama


DL - *Dee Ford, Auburn

DL - *C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss

DL - *Ronald Powell, Florida

DL - *Alvin Dupree, Kentucky

DL - *Denico Autry, Mississippi State

LB - Avery Williamson, Kentucky

LB - Bernardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

LB - *Ronald Powell, Florida

LB - *Trey DePriest, Alabama

DB - Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M

DB - Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State

DB - Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama

DB - Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss




PK - Carey Spear, Vanderbilt

P - Kyle Christy, Florida

RS - Odell Beckhman Jr., LSU

AP – Bruce Ellington, South Carolina


PK - Cody Parkey, Auburn

P - *Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss

P - *Cody Mandell, Alabama

P - *Steven Clark, Auburn

RS - Marcus Murphy, Missouri

AP - Odell Beckhman Jr., LSU


PK - *Andrew Baggett, Missouri

PK - *Zach Hocker, Arkansas

P - Michael Palardy, Tennessee

AP - LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State


* - Ties

INFORMATION SOURCE: University of Alabama Athletics Dept.

Powered by Frankly