6 Alabama Football players named to AP All-America Team - WBRC FOX6 News - Birmingham, AL

6 Alabama Football players named to AP All-America Team

Alabama had six players selected to the 2012 Associated Press All-America Team on Tuesday the organization announced, included a nation-best four on the first team.

The AP recognized senior center Barrett Jones (a two-time selection), offensive guard Chance Warmack, junior cornerback Dee Milliner and junior linebacker C.J. Mosley as first-team All-Americans. Junior tackle D.J. Fluker was a second-team selection and junior quarterback AJ McCarron was named to the third team.

Alabama has had 19 players secure 22 first-team All-America accolades over the past five years and 107 players earn 125 first-team honors in program history. All four Alabama first-team selections have now secured consensus All-America status (at least three first-team selections among five accepted teams: AFCA, AP, FWAA, Walter Camp and Sporting News).

Milliner, who hails from Millbrook, Ala., has been a stalwart in the back end of the Crimson Tide's top-ranked defense. He was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award and the Bronko Naguraski Award. He leads the nation with 18 broken up passes and is tied for second with 20 passes defended, while making 51 tackles with four tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks.

Mosley, a native of Theodore, Ala., leads the team with 99 tackles and was a finalist for the Butkus Award, which goes to the country's best linebacker. He has seven tackles for loss, four sacks, two interceptions, two pass breakups, one recovered fumble and a forced fumble. Mosley's three career interception returns for touchdowns also tie an Alabama record.

Jones, from Germantown, Tenn., is a two-time consensus All-American, earning accolades in 2011 at left tackle and then at center in 2012. He won the Rimington Trophy as the nation's top center this season. A three-time All-SEC selection (right guard, left tackle and center), he helped Alabama average 224.6 rushing yards per game while not allowing a sack in this season.

Warmack is from Atlanta, Ga., and has developed into one of the nation's top offensive linemen as a senior. He has started 39 games at the Capstone over the last three years. Warmack helped Alabama average 439.1 yards of total offense, including 224.6 yards per game on the ground, to rank 20th nationally and second in the SEC.

Fluker, from Foley, Ala., has started 35 career games at right tackle, including 29 consecutive games. A first-team All-SEC selection in 2012, he was a force on the right side of the Crimson Tide offensive line.

McCarron, a native of Mobile, Ala., leads the nation in passing efficiency (173.08) and has thrown 26 touchdowns in 2012 to set the program record for a single season. He is completing 66.5 percent of his passes for 2,669 yards, while posting a 24-2 career record.

For more information on Alabama Football, follow the Tide on Twitter @AlabamaFTBL and like the team on Facebook at AlabamaFTBL.




Quarterback: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Running back: Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Running back: Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona

Tackle: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

Tackle: Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Guard: Chance Warmack, Alabama

Guard: Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina

Center: Barrett Jones, Alabama

Tight end: Zach Ertz, Stanford

Receiver: Marqise Lee, Southern California

Receiver: Terrance Williams, Baylor

All-purpose player: Tavon Austin, West Virginia

Kicker: Cairo Santos, Tulane



End: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

End: Bjoern WernerFlorida State

Tackle: Star Lotulelei, Utah

Tackle: Will Sutton, Arizona State

Linebacker: Manti Te'o, Notre Dame

Linebacker: Jarvis Jones, Georgia

Linebacker: C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Cornerback: Dee Milliner, Alabama

Cornerback: Jordan Poyer, Oregon State

Safety: Phillip Thomas, Fresno State

Safety: Matt Elam, Florida

Punter: Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech




Quarterback: Collin Klein, Kansas State

Running back: Kenjon Barner, Oregon

Running back: Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

Tackle: D.J. Fluker, Alabama

Tackle: David Yankey, Stanford

Guard: Spencer Long, Nebraska

Guard: Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Center: Dalton Freeman, Clemson

Tight end: Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

Receiver: Stedman Bailey, West Virginia

Receiver: Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech

All-purpose player: Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Kicker: Dustin Hopkins, Florida State



End: Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

End: Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame

Tackle: Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State

Tackle: Kawann Short, Purdue

Linebacker: Kevin Minter, LSU

Linebacker: Anthony Barr, UCLA

Linebacker: Arthur Brown, Kansas State

Cornerback: Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

Cornerback: Bradley Roby, Ohio State

Safety: Eric Reid, LSU

Safety: Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma

Punter: Riley Stephenson, BYU




Quarterback: A.J. McCarron, Alabama

Running back: Stefphon Jefferson, Nevada

Running back: Giovani Bernard, North Carolina

Tackle: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

Tackle: Eric Fisher, Central Michigan

Guard: Larry Warford, Kentucky

Guard: Xavier Su'a-Filo, UCLA

Center: Braxston Cave, Notre Dame

Tight end: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington

Receiver: DeAndre Hopkins, Clemson

Receiver: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

All-purpose player: Dri Archer, Kent State

Kicker: Caleb Sturgis, Florida



End: John Simon, Ohio State

End: Sam Montgomery, LSU.

Tackle: Shariff Floyd, Florida

Tackle: Chris Jones, Bowling Green.

Linebacker: Khaseem Greene, Rutgers

Linebacker: Trent Murphy, Stanford

Linebacker: Kyle Van Noy, BYU

Cornerback: Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

Cornerback: Jason Verrett, TCU

Safety: Ed Reynolds, Stanford

Safety: Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State

Punter: Kyle Christy, Florida

Powered by Frankly